Skip to content
Dorset Counts — Dorset, in numbers.Local help →

Dorset, in numbers

People and living standards

Dorset council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Dorset council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 323,800 in 1991 to 391,036 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Dorset council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 336,132 people in 1996; 391,036 people in 2025. 16.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Dorset council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991323,800
1992325,535
1993326,896
1994330,274
1995333,664
1996336,132
1997338,202
1998340,020
1999340,914
2000344,877
2001346,596
2002350,487
2003353,367
2004355,305
2005357,679
2006359,806
2007363,069
2008364,085
2009363,567
2010364,317
2011365,897
2012366,572
2013367,651
2014368,694
2015370,728
2016372,416
2017374,675
2018375,604
2019377,699
2020377,670
2021381,245
2022383,191
2023385,934
2024389,341
2025391,036
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Dorset council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 61,897 people in 1996; 56,697 people in 2025. 8.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Dorset council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199159,853
199260,295
199360,644
199461,524
199561,869
199661,897
199761,685
199861,875
199962,350
200062,650
200162,754
200263,116
200363,260
200463,146
200562,672
200661,812
200761,268
200860,800
200960,198
201059,898
201159,728
201259,608
201359,528
201459,465
201559,369
201659,205
201759,341
201859,123
201958,594
202057,790
202157,592
202257,820
202357,765
202457,669
202556,697
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Dorset council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 199,737 people in 1996; 212,380 people in 2025. 6.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Dorset council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991193,383
1992194,073
1993194,357
1994195,947
1995198,124
1996199,737
1997201,393
1998202,420
1999201,875
2000204,898
2001205,536
2002208,101
2003209,962
2004211,170
2005213,328
2006215,890
2007218,260
2008217,921
2009216,476
2010215,734
2011215,430
2012212,591
2013210,870
2014209,324
2015209,212
2016209,144
2017209,378
2018208,806
2019209,132
2020208,549
2021210,606
2022210,190
2023210,875
2024212,179
2025212,380
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Dorset council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 74,498 people in 1996; 121,959 people in 2025. 63.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Dorset council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,564
199271,167
199371,895
199472,803
199573,671
199674,498
199775,124
199875,725
199976,689
200077,329
200178,306
200279,270
200380,145
200480,989
200581,679
200682,104
200783,541
200885,364
200986,893
201088,685
201190,739
201294,373
201397,253
201499,905
2015102,147
2016104,067
2017105,956
2018107,675
2019109,973
2020111,331
2021113,047
2022115,181
2023117,294
2024119,493
2025121,959
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 379,580 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Dorset · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,3051.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,0820.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,4361.2%
White368,41597.1%
Other ethnic group1,3420.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Dorset council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,518 per person in 1997; £27,403 per person in 2024. 137.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Dorset council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,518
199811,880
199912,219
200012,627
200113,101
200213,308
200313,815
200414,178
200514,690
200615,644
200716,151
200816,628
200916,497
201017,118
201117,559
201217,978
201318,607
201419,227
201519,932
201620,045
201720,362
201821,160
201922,005
202022,071
202122,947
202224,122
202325,944
202427,403
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Dorset council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 8.6% in 1997; 5.5% in 2024. 3.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Dorset council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19978.6
19989.7
19998
20006.1
20015.9
20025.2
20036
20044.5
20054.5
20066.8
20075.2
20085.6
20093
20106
20117.8
20126.4
20136.2
20146.3
20154.8
20164.1
20173.4
20183.7
20194.4
20205.2
20215.1
20225
20236.1
20245.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.1%

21 March 2021 · Dorset council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.1%

21 March 2021 · Dorset council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.8%

21 March 2021 · Dorset council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Dorset council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£325,000

July 2026 · Dorset council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,056

August 2026 · Dorset council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2001 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.